Old Friends

Claws Out! Here’s the Correct Viewing Order for the ’90s X-Men Cartoon on Disney+

X-Men is on Disney+ But, the episodes are all out of order! Here’s the right order.

Originally Published: 
1990s X-Men

Snikt! If you know that sound, then you know some of us have just unfurled our adamantium claws and have decided to start rewatching some old X-Men cartoons. the best version of the X-Men is, almost certainly the 1992-1997 cartoon that ran on Fox. And now with X-Men crossovers coming to the Marvel Cinematic Universe, there’s no better time than now to revisit the real X-Men. And, watch the episodes in the right order! Let’s figure out how to watch it together.

These days, thanks to Disney+, and the streaming dominance of Disney+ you can watch the ’90s X-Men cartoon in the most binge-able, streamable format, ever. There’s just one little problem: After season 2 of X-Men, Disney+ has these vintage episodes in the wrong order. In fairness, some of this isn’t Disney’s fault. When X-Men first aired in the ’90s, a complicated production schedule meant that the script order of the episodes sometimes didn’t correspond to the order in which the episodes were released. In fact, tracking down the exact script order is tricky (though not impossible.)

Right now, there are two ways you can binge the original X-Men cartoon series. You can just watch it in the order Disney+ has it, or, after season 2, you can use our guide below, and hunt and peck for the correct episodes in the correct order. What would Wolverine want you to do? Here’s the complete guide, bub.

Season 1

(For the most part, these are in the correct viewing order on Disney+.)

  1. Night of the Sentinels I
  2. Night of the Sentinels II
  3. Enter Magneto
  4. Deadly Reunions
  5. Captive Hearts
  6. Cold Vengeance
  7. Slave Island
  8. The Unstoppable Juggernaut
  9. The Cure
  10. Come the Apocalypse
  11. Days of Future Past I
  12. Days of Future Past II
  13. The Final Decision

Season 2

(As with season 1, these are in the correct order on Disney+)

  1. ‘Til Death Do Us Part I
  2. ‘Til Death Do Us Part II
  3. Whatever It Takes
  4. Red Dawn
  5. Repo Man
  6. X-Ternally Yours
  7. Time Fugitives I
  8. Time Fugitives II
  9. A Rogue’s Tale
  10. Beauty and the Beast
  11. MojoVision
  12. Reunion I
  13. Reunion II

Season 3

This is where things get tricky. At first, this season plays out the right way, but right after the Dark Phoenix episodes, things get wonky. Here’s the right order:

  1. Out of the Past I
  2. Out of the Past II
  3. Phoenix Saga I
  4. Phoenix Saga II
  5. Phoenix Saga III
  6. Phoenix Saga IV
  7. Phoenix Saga V
  8. No Mutant Is An Island
  9. Obsession
  10. Longshot
  11. Cold Comfort
  12. Savage Land, Savage Heart I
  13. Savage Land, Savage Heart II
  14. Dark Phoenix Saga I
  15. Dark Phoenix Saga II
  16. Dark Phoenix Saga III
  17. Dark Phoenix Saga IV
  18. Orphan’s End
  19. Love In Vain (Disney+ lists this as episode 15 of season 4. It’s not. It should be watched here.)
  20. The Juggernaut Returns
  21. A Deal with the Devil (Disney+ lists this as episode 21 of season 4. It’s not. It should be watched here, after “Juggernaut Returns.”)

The remaining episodes that Disney+ lists as part of season 3, including “The Lotus and the Steel,” “No Mutant Island,” and “Obsession,” are actually part of season 4.

Season 4

Okay, so the entirety of season 4 on Disney+ isn’t even remotely in the right order. You’ll have to hunt around within this season to watch everything in the correct order. Plus, some of what should be season 5 is mixed in here, too. For example, the opening episodes of this season should be “Sanctuary” parts 1 and 2, but Disney+ had those as episodes 8 and 9. The following is the correct order for this season. Happy hunting!

  1. Sanctuary I
  2. Sanctuary II
  3. Xavier Remembers
  4. Courage
  5. Secrets Not Long Buried
  6. Nightcrawler (DEFINITELY NOT episode 1 of this season)
  7. One Man’s Worth I
  8. One Man’s Worth II
  9. Proteus I
  10. Proteus II
  11. Family Ties
  12. Bloodlines
  13. The Lotus and the Steel.
  14. Weapon X, Lies, and Videotape
  15. Have Yourself A Morlock Little Christmas
  16. Beyond Good and Evil I
  17. Beyond Good and Evil II
  18. Beyond Good and Evil III
  19. Beyond Good and Evil IV

Season 5

Okay phew! Season 5 is also messed up, and you’ll have to look around within what Disney+ lists as season 4 to get the correct order. Here are the final stories, in the right order! For what it’s worth, Disney+ lists “Graduation Day” as the final episode, and, that is actually correct.

  1. The Phalanx Covenant I
  2. The Phalanx Covenant II
  3. Storm Front I
  4. Storm Front II
  5. The Fifth Horseman
  6. Jubilee’s Fairy Tale Theatre
  7. Old Soldiers
  8. Hidden Agendas
  9. Descent
  10. Graduation Day

Here’s everything you need to know about Disney+.

Here’s where to sign-up.

This article was originally published on